the one where i say a quick hello…

31 12 2008

wow!  it’s been a loooooooong time!  is anybody out there? well, i’m not pretending that i’ll be posting regularly…i’m in the throws of my master’s program.  only 6 more months to go!  take heart, though!  i have been knitting…

here is the last draft that i had in my queue:

(written on 30 april 2008)

i told you that I’ve been itching to knit some lace. so far my lace success stories only include fingering weight yarn (mostly socks…but there was the diamond shawl – which i totally love). this is mostly because I horde sock yarn.…er… the majority of my stash is fingering weight.

i do have some laceweight in the stash:

I had originally balled up the skacel for the another shawl….but 12 rows in the project imploded. Since then i’ve been trying t find a project to fit the yarn. No go. The project found another yarn. a few days ago I started the maltese shawl from VLT. LOVE IT. However, I have only 7 repeats knit…out of 88!!!

the pattern itself is not difficult, but it is patterned on both sides so one must pay attention at all times. i suspect that i move on it will become easier to read my work. there are only 6 rows in each repeat, so keep your fingers crossed that i don’t get bored!

so….8 months later, i’ve resurfaced. (ah!)  i’ve come to show you that project!  (in fact, i’ve counted 15 total projects for 2008.  some tiny…some big…and a lot of lace…but not so much with the pictures).

STP60502

maltese wedding shawl
pattern: maltese shawl from vlt (ravelry link)
jaggerspun zephyr wool-silk 2/18 in charcoal
2 skeins | 630 yds : 2 oz | 50 wool : 50 silk
started: april 29, 2008
finished: june 14, 2008
needles: US #4 knitpicks nickel plated options
notes: a little long for me but i love it!

anyway, this lace project ended up being the shawl i wore for my wedding.  yup!  butter and i eloped!  if jj ever finishes up with the pictures…maybe i can post some.  (cough!!) anyway, please excuse the cheesiness….i was being silly and i was on a post-wedding high!

and as a last note…i miss my blogging buddies, you are often in my thoughts and yes, at times i do stalk you.  i hope the holidays have found you well and…

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!

Actions

Information

5 responses

31 12 2008
JJ

Done.

31 12 2008
JJ Smiley

Where’s my freakin’ comment? What the poop goes on around here? Don’t you people keep an eye on the door? I went to a lot of trouble to get sane you know! What’s their number? God, I think I shall never get over that line… Sigh. Nice to see you blogging again. And nice to know for once I was ahead of the game.

1 01 2009
opal

it’s great to see you blogging again! congratulations to you and butter! the shawl is gorgeous. 🙂

i look forward to future posts, sporadic as they might be. happy new year!

4 01 2009
Valerie in San Diego

Sporadic posting is fine — I know how crazy life gets (and I have been through grad school). We always enjoy your posts, whenever they may appear!

Love that shawl, just breathtaking. Someday I will tackle real lace! (I’ve only knit lace with fingering weight yarn so far.)

happy new year!

4 01 2009
Valerie in San Diego

OH yeah and congrats on eloping! Rob and I did the same and have never regretted eloping 🙂

Leave a Reply

