riding the wave…

2 11 2007

remember i said in my last post that i had started another project before bellamonkey? actually, i tried to start a number of lace shawls. ‘tried’ being the operative word. and why wouldn’t i? the lace diamond stole was so fantastic! i wanted a shawl in every color!!

for me, though, the marriage of yarn and pattern is a sort of magical thing. i’ll troll for patterns through books, magazines and on the web, mentally noting what piques my interest. then i’ll browse the lys or e-tailers or the stash for yarn that catches my fancy. when doing one or the other, suddenly inspiration strikes, the stars align and poof! an obsession is born. at least 99% of the time. and at least until the first sock is born.

the other 1% i find a project that i love and (cough) plan to knit it up. admittedly, much less magical, but these projects also exist. meet clapotis.

071031.clapotis

2nd wave clapotis
in knitpicks bare fingering 100% merino
started: october 2007
needles: US #4 knitpicks options circular needles
notes: zzzzzzzzzzzzz

i have always wanted the have the clap (snort – sorry, i know that’s been overplayed but, come on, let a gal have some fun!). i saw clapotis as a way to stash bust. but, my stash is almost exclusively sock yarn in sock quantities. not so much with the choices. my second problem lies in the fact that i wanted a dark….scratch that….a black shawl/scarf. i may be thirty-ish but my eyes belong in a 90 year old’s eye sockets. that would be just asking for a migraine. (excuse me, waiter, i’ll have a migraine with some blurry vision. but, can you serve that on the side?).

i really wanted to make this project. it’s almost like a knitting milestone.

oh, you started knitting when? that’s fantastic! you must have knitted clapotis, didn’t you?!?

i wanted to be able to say yes to that question and be one of the hundreds that participated in the knitting web community. (i realize i have a blog…but clapotis is more than that i guess. i mean, i’m not the only one who wants to knit it). anyway, i had some kp bare lying around. it isn’t superwash so i didn’t want to dye it up for socks…instead i decided to use it for this project.

since the yarn is so plain i think the magic of clapotis is lost on me. I AM GOING TO FINISH IT, THOUGH. i’m about halfway through. i’m just not so obsessed like some people (it looks awesome carol!). once i dye it black i foresee it being used many times over.

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 11 2007
Sheila

I haven’t seen a picture yet of Clapotis that I didn’t love. I can only hope there will be a third wave.

2 11 2007
Bobbi

great idea knitting it and dying it! I don’t know I think the bare looks amazing, in the picture.

5 11 2007
Opal

The Clap (*snort* I still get a kick outta that) is so much fun to knit. I finished just the other month and I’m already hoping to do another.

6 11 2007
stacey

I tried to knit clap a few times – no luck – I got so bored! stick with it – the dying is a great idea – I hate knitting with black!

24 12 2007
stacey

I’ve tried twice to knit a Clapotis -no luck so far….so I am in those few who have never knit one…I just can’t seem to get through it! Good idea to start with the undyed and dye it black – my eyes can’t handle knitting dark colors either!

PS – I only do audiobooks right now, so if I have time before I leave I’ll figure out how to do your meme! 🙂

Leave a Reply

