happy socktober!!

4 10 2006

today is, what, the 4th of socktober and i have yet to think about socks. bad tani. anyway, let’s start socktoberfest off with a bang!! i’ll celebrate the sock-a-li-cious month with my SOCK HISTORY!!

  • when did you start making socks? did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?

i started making socks early in my knitting life. before i knew better, i shopped at joann’s for yarn. but even yarn lust can come early-on for the new knitter. a ball of lb simple stripes caught my eye. it was blue and stripe-y and it was such a happy color!

  • What was your first pair? How have they “held up” over time?

i made my first pair with the pattern from the ball band. i was soooo hooked on socks. it was amazing. i stayed up late to knit. i even snuck my sock knitting to work so i could get a few rows in. i still wear that very pair of socks. then are mostly soft and somewhat piling, but still very nice looking. in fact, i wore them to work on my birthday. if you look closely at this picture, you can see my socks in the left corner of the picture. i ripped them off the moment i saw my present so that i could take pictures of my mannequin foot fully clothed.

  • what would you have done differently?

i made them a little small, but i like snug socks. and the toes are all jacked up, i somehow didn’t center the stitches when doing the decreases and forget about the kitchener stitch! the toe is passable but still wonky. despite the imperfections, i still love them.

  • what yarns have you particularly enjoyed?

my fav is cherry tree hill supersock. love, love, love it. i totally abuse my socks: wear them to work (i’m a nurse – always on my feet!), throw them in the washer and dryer (mostly by accident), etc. but it wears well, is super soft and is a dream to knit up! i’ve recently been introduced to socks that rock, too (i joined the club but only knit one of the skeins and not in the pattern!!) it’s awesome…i don’t particularly like self-striping yarn anymore, but if the color is right and the yarn is yummy, i’m game for anything!! i guess i just like them all.

  • do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?

i prefer dpns. my ebonies are far and above my favorite. i still like and use my metal dpns that i bought along with the yarn from my first socks. i’ll use 2 circs just to mix things up. never tried magic loop, nor crocheted socks, but i’m willing to try anything once.

  • which kind of heel do you prefer? (flap? or short-row?)

either, love them both

  • how many pairs have you made?

dunno. more than 20, less than 30.

  • how many patterns are on your to do list?

at least 20, not counting the patterns in my books. i’m obsessing about cables recently. eunny’s bayerische is high on my list.

last night, when i started my “things to do tomorrow list” i penned “sock planning”. (yes, i am a geek like that. i plan to plan. now actually completing my task list, well that’s another story. on a good day i get about 90% of the things i list done. on average i finish 60%. somehow i rationalize that “more than half” is a good thing.) i also thought to write “no demi knitting” but couldn’t bear the thought. i think i jinxed myself; i found a cabling mistake and had to rip 6 rows back. i’ve put it away and will now start the sock knitting.

here i come molly!!

(for your picture pleasure, i have included photos of the wrap-job i did on rita’s fetching fingerless gloves. done in the natural plymouth suri merino). hope you like them reet!

061004_tag

061004_tag1

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 10 2006
Stacey

Looks like we both started on LB Magic Stripes! 🙂 I’m an avid planner/list maker also – how do you think I came up with that sock mosaic (I also have the yarn requirements, gauge, etc in a “gulp” spreadsheet…

4 10 2006
firefly8868

Your photography is looking so beautiful and professional. My favorite is the second shot of with the closeup of the tag. Like the new header too … that is new, isn’t it, or I am just boggled today from too much Internet?

Happy socktoberfest to you too!

~firefly

5 10 2006
megan

Aw, too bad about Demi… was looking forward to watching your progress! I’m in the market for some yarn to make myself a Demi… but, like you, I might succumb to Socktoberfest activities for the next few weeks. Let the sockery commence!

Leave a Reply

