fetching pumpkins

17 09 2006

just a quick post…wanted to show what i decided to make with my suri alpaca

060916_fetching-pumpkin

how fetching!
pattern: fetching (knitty) in plymouth yarn suri merino (pumpkin)
50 g / 110 yds; 55% suri alpaca / 45% extra fine merino wool
needles: 5-#5 bamboo double pointed needles
alterations: used standard bo, the picot bo looked funky to me and curled too much for my liking.

i was a little worried that the tiny ball would not make a pair of these soft fingerless gloves. but i took out my trusty scale – only 19 grams for the first finished glove!! that leaves me a generous 29+ grams for the second. lovely!i was bummed to discover that i was off on my rows between cables, so they gradually get longer…but i don’t think it’s too noticeable, do you? (cough) um…that was my ‘design feature’ anyway (cough). right. can’t wait to get started on the rest of my gifts!

Actions

Information

5 responses

17 09 2006
Shelley

I think they look great, and I like the colour too. Glad you ended up with enough yarn to make them! How awful it would have been if you didn’t have enough for the second one…

21 09 2006
anastacia

ooh, pretty color. I just finished up a pair of bulky armwarmers, too – mine were knit with a strand of patons merino & a strand of mohair.

22 09 2006
Stacey

those look so cozy! I love the color!

18 10 2006
Päivä

I love the colour! The pattern is great – they are so fast to knit, require so little yarn, but look so nice.
My second pair of Fetching is almost finished.

26 06 2007
cider moon pic and new sock- broad spriral rib :) « crankygrrrrrl

[…] what i’ve been working on. my sister (remember this?) as i expected, she felted the fingerless gloves i made her. she requested mittens for her birthday…but she also asked for socks….so i […]

Leave a Reply

